Dunkin v. Wawa – Part 1: Stuck Between A Rock and A Hard Place.

IMG_0762

If you ever catch me with a Wawa or Dunkin Donuts cup of coffee walking down the block and I am not wearing something indicating that I may have gotten it for free, something happened to me.  I am probably in the middle of a struggle of some sort.

The worst life I had one time stretched close to 18 months.  

*In the voice of Sophia, from The Golden Girls* Picture this: Philly, December, 2013.  The most saddest and traumatizing break up I’ve ever had was coming to a close; she moved out months ago and finally I was looking to leave the apartment we once shared … I mean the curtain was finally closing on a 5 year relationship where I really thought every single day of the 5 years we were together that we were building our future.  Needless to say, between the amount of time we were together and my overall jadedness the entire time, I came out of the relationship with the short end of the stick being a hell of an overstatement.  Think along the lines of the branch of a shrub and the tiniest twig you could find on it.  Find a little-assed, wishbone-shaped twig on a little shrub and break of the smallest piece of THAT and that is what I was left with … I would have TWERKED for a short stick if given the option!!!

I find out that a coworker needs a roommate and I don’t ask any questions, I tell him I would move in immediately.  I moved in January.  I was so happy to finally be done in a way I could finally start processing the break-up like a healthy adult.  I was so happy for this new place to live.  But, as luck would have it, I moved into a coffee-less community!  I didn’t know communities with out coffee shops even existed.  I mean, there were spots where you could get coffee but there were no respectable coffee shops or coffee houses, as far as I was concerned.  I moved in, in the middle of the night and only bought what I could.  I didn’t have a coffee maker.  *insert the saddest emoji sticker I have ever seen in my life a friend sent me a few days ago.  I felt so bad for the emoji when I saw it, the person who developed the emoji and the person who sent it … expect an update with said emoji.)

The only spots I could get coffee, in the middle of such a traumatic experience that I had yet to even finish getting through (that being the break up, which if you ask me was just about to hanker down and get turbulent on the inside) were Wawa, which was directly across the street from me and Dunkin Donuts, which was on the same side of the street as the Wawa, but 3 blocks down.

Every time I woke up and had to go get coffee from one of these spots, I had to ask myself if all of the coffee gods in the universe were conspiring against me.  That’s freaking stupid … of all people, this coffee snob gets caught without a coffee maker in between a Wawa and a Dunkin fucking, fuck … I meant freaking Donuts.  It’s like adding insult to injury!!!  I do everything right in coffee world.  I care about who is following fair trade practices, I care about coffee culture, and I care about coffee experiences and in the middle of an experience that was trying to change me from being the sweet lover I am to there being an icebox where my heart used to be (in the words of the singer Omarion) I am stuck between a Wawa and a Dunkin?

It gets worse, Yo!!!

At some point, getting that little short end of the twig from a little shrub, started to catch up to me financially to where, one day, those two options were all I could afford.  In my head, I was furious – going back to the coffee gods.  Because in essence, what happened was all metaphysical and it started with them putting me in that hell of a coffee zone.  By me actually going to those places, I manifested a situation where those two places became the only places I could go.  My finances got so bad I’d have to scrounge up change to get a cup and once it was in my hand, be it Wawa or Dunkin Donuts, I’d be thankful for it.

If that isn’t an ugly situation for me, I don’t know what is.  Me, thankful for a cup of Joe from Wawa or Dunkin?  I never thought I’d see the day.  Every day I did, though, I was super conflicted on the inside until I decided to never go to the two for my morning coffee again.  I was torturing myself.  However, since I went to these places often for coffee, I was able to develop a preference.  Besides knowing which one of the two I prefer, I have an overall take on both of these places being a go-to place for anyone.  Also, let’s be very clear – when I speak about my preference, I am merely speaking of the best of two worsts, in my book.

If you genuinely are curious as to how I feel about these two spots for coffee, you are definitely going to want to read “Dunkin v. Wawa – Part 2: This Is For The People” where I share which of the two I prefer and my perspectives on them both.  (If you are wondering why the text isn’t hyperlinked, it’s because it has yet to be written.)

Oh and in case you haven’t figured it out, by now, I am quite the coffee snob.  So if you love love love coffee, then you are definitely going to want to subscribe to this blog.  Coffee is so much more to me than just a beverage and I cannot wait to let you guys in on the things I know.  If you can’t wait to read another thing I write, read about how I decided to not become a comedian thanks to Katt Williams getting stomped in the head, here!

Also, if you haven’t noticed, I love my new camera soooooo much, I put together an instagram account just for my photos.  You should definitely connect with me @sharinganeyephotography.

Oh, and if you are a coffee lover like me, be sure to like this post and share your feelings about either brand.  Also, which do you prefer?  Some states don’t even have Wawa.  Does yours?  If it doesn’t you are either missing out or there is a location with the same business model as Wawa … either way, I’d like to hear from you.  Thank you so much for reading!!!

 

Leave a Reply

